About the Board

  • Fort Osage is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. Operating within the legal parameters of the state and federal constitutions, the Board is charged with the responsibility of providing the finest educational program possible for the students in the district. Board of Education members make all final decisions regarding school district priorities, policies, personnel, expenditures, and growth management. The Board adopts a budget annually which is necessary to maintain and operate the schools, levy taxes to support the budget, and submit bond issues to the citizens of the district to finance construction projects.

    Board of Education Members

    Mr. Floyd Hawkins, President
    Mrs. Sharon Dankenbring, Vice-President
    Mr. Tim Brown, Member
    Mrs. Diana Rice, Member
    Mr. Kelly Scott, Member
    Mr. David Shrout, Member
    Mr. Gary Thompson, Member


    The Board of Education meets at 7:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Gragg Administrative Office located on the district's main campus at the juncture of Highways 24 and 7.  

    2020-21 Board Meeting Dates:

    July 14, 2020  *Public seating will be limited in order to remain in compliance with Jackson County's COVID-19 guidance plans

    July 21, 2020 5pm - Special Session  *Public seating willbe limited in order to remain in compliance with Jackson County's COVID-19 guidance plans

    August 11, 2020

    September 8, 2020

    October 13, 2020

    November 10, 2020

    December 8, 2020

    January 12, 2021

    February 9, 2021

    March 9, 2021

    April 13, 2021

    May 11, 2021

    June 8, 2021


Additional Information

  • The Board of Education Secretary is the liaison between the board and district patrons. You may contact the board secretary by phone at 816-650-7000 or via mail at 2101 N. Twyman Road, Independence, MO 64058

    Comments (-1)

Public Notice