Hall of Honor

hall of honor

On January 4, 2013, Fort Osage High School welcomed back four distinguished alumni.  Larry Young, Andrew Yates, Kevin Williams, and Betty Lennox became the 2nd group to be inducted into the Fort Osage High School Hall of Honor. 

Larry Young, Class of 1961

Larry was active while he was at Fort Osage being involved in football, choir, and track. 

Following graduation, Larry served in the US Navy.  Following the Navy, he achieved international prominence as a two-time Olympic medalist.  Larry is the only American to ever win a medal in log distance race walking. During that time, he also studied sculpture at Columbia College followed by a two-year fellowship in Italy.  Larry has been a full-time artist for the last 25 years and has placed over 50 monumental outdoor sculptures nationally and abroad.  His studio and home are in Columbia Missouri. 


Andrew Yates, Class of 1979

Andrew would tell you that while at Fort Osage he was a band geek.  He did more then simply play instruments, he was the conductor for the pep band at rallies and assisted the band director with many aspects of teaching the younger students.  During the 1978-79 school year, he was chosen 4th chair percussion in the Missouri All-State Band.  Aside from band, he was also on the yearbook staff.

In 2004, Andrew was commissioned by the Fort Osage Band Boosters to write “Osage Sketches” which was premiered by the Fort Osage Band.  Andrew will begin his Masters in Wind Conducting at the UMKC Conservatory of Music this fall.  His first publication for band “West Point’s 162nd” hit the market this year and he is in the process of composing his next piece due out this year.  He plays percussion in several civic groups and is a founding member of the professional orchestra the Kinnor Philharmonic.  Andrew and his wife Loretta currently live in Lenexa, KS. 


Kevin Williams, Class of 1986

Kevin was very active in sports while at Fort Osage.  His senior year he recalls fondly Fort Osage defeating Blue Springs in what could only be described as a mud game.  Kevin earned 1st Team All State football honors for his efforts.  Kevin also excelled in his academics and was a member of the National Honor Society.

After graduating from Fort Osage, Kevin attended Missouri State University and transferred to the University of Missouri where he earned a Bachelors degree in Physical Therapy.  Kevin and his wife Tammy currently live in Grain Valley.  They stay very busy following their two sons as they progress through their athletic and academic pursuits. 


Betty Lennox, Class of 1995

Betty was most known for her basketball and track accomplishments while she was at Fort Osage.  We asked Betty about her fondest memory at Fort Osage and she said winning court warming queen was a great honor. 

Betty attended Louisiana Technical University after graduating from Fort Osage.  She left college and entered the WNBA draft where she was selected by the Minnesota Lynx in 2000.  She has earned the honor of Rookie of the Year and was the first rookie to play in the all-star game.  Betty has played in the WNBA for 10 years.  In 2004, Betty and her Seattle Storm team won a WNBA championship and she was named the 2004 MVP.  Betty still continues to play in the WNBA and travels the world playing on other teams in foreign countries.  Betty started her own foundation, the Lennox Foundation 22, where she helps the needs of abused and neglected children.