AFL Resources

Below are some resources for you to use as you are working to implement Assessment for Learning into your teaching strategies. Click on a link below to view the resource.

Fort Osage Assessment for Learning Activities

Scoring Guides

A) Persuasive/Argumentative Essay Rubric

Submitted by: Dr. Jason Morton

For more information contact jmorton@fortosage.net

I have begun working on one student-friendly scoring guide for reflection/assessment by the student, peers, and the teacher. It leaves no doubt in student’s minds as to what is expected for proficiency and puts more of an onus on students to revise and edit their work before submitting a “final” draft.

Attachment: Persuasive/Argumentative Essay Rubric

B) Sharing Student Work

Submitted by: Allison Nichols

For more information contact anichols@fortosage.net

Sharing student work that reflects all achievement levels so that students can assess/identify what each achievement level looks like.

C) Art Rating

Submitted by: Susie Phillips

For more information contact sphillips@fortosage.net

In art, I put artwork on the board and have students rate each piece. 1-4 focusing on a specific learning target. Then we discuss why they gave their numbers (will use another classes’ artwork-no names are showing) so they are more objective.

D) Journaling Exercises

Submitted by: Mike Pantleo

For more information contact mpantleo@fortosage.net

All of the classes as the CTC are using the Journaling Exercises book that has a place for student writing on the left side and a built-in and visible scoring guide on the right hand side. This system is helping the school to have consistent and clear expectations for writing across the school.

Attachement: Journaling Exercises booklet

 

Student Goal Setting

A) Identifying Strengths

Submitted by: Amy Miller

For more information contact amiller@fortosage.net

Math analysis and self-reflection.

Attachment: Algebra DCA “Identifying My Strengths and Areas of Improvement”

B) Learning Target Graph

Submitted by: Alissa Neidlinger

For more information contact aneidlinger@fortosage.net

In Title I classes, students are setting individual reading goals and tracking progress.

Attachment: Learning Target Graph

C) Target Stamp

Submitted by: Mandy Brown

For more information contact mbrown@fortosage.net

Having students assess their knowledge of content 4,3,2,1 prior to taking assessment; then comparing it against their reality after receiving teacher feedback.

Attachment: Worksheets with Target Stamps

D) Individual/Class Goals Learning Targets

Submitted by: Lori Thornburg

For more information contact lthornburg@fortosage.net

Setting individual and class goals using the Learning Targets.

Attachment: Learning Targets sheet

E) Target Cards

Submitted by: Tim Gallagher

For more information contact tgallagher@fortosage.net

Target Cards are handed out to students when they meet a goal. Can redeem for candy in the office or collect them.

F) Math Tracker

Submitted by: Lisa Cox

For more information contact lcox@fortosage.net

Kids are given targets. Targets are moved through pockets of levels of achievement. Targets are graphed to show progress.

 

AfL in Reading and Math

A) The Literacy CAFE Menu

Submitted by: Abby Briemle

For more information contact abriemle@fortosage.net

At Cler-Mont we use the Literacy CAFE Menu for students to set individual reading goals. They post their name on a sticky note under the strategy they are working on. Once they have mastered that strategy they choose another one to focus on.

Attachment: The Literacy CAFÉ Menu and Bulletin Board photo

B) Fry Words into Phrases

Submitted by: Lori Huber

For more information contact lhuber@fortosage.net

Tim Resinsky’s Fry Words into Phrases.

C) Calendar Math

Submitted By: Johnalyn Sapp and Kelly Cross

For more information contact jsapp@fortosage.net or kcross@fortosage.net

Adding AfLs to previous DCA skills and skills being threaded through Calendar Math that will be tested on later in the year. The purpose—to see what they have retained and to see if they are picking up the new skills through Calendar Math.

Notice of Non-Discrimination

  • The District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, ethnicity,
  • sex, religion, disability, age, sexual orientation or perceived sexual orientation in its programs, activities or employment practices. Read More